Food · Recipes

Soups! (And Muffins and Spaghetti)

We entered our January Snowmageddon with a fridge full of produce to be used, and I was determined to use it since we were stuck at home!

During the 7th/8th weekend, I made this butternut squash, sweet potato, and red lentil stew. I used a can of butternut squash purée because that was all I had, I used full-fat coconut milk and kale instead of chard, I followed her suggestions of swapping chickpeas for red lentils and using the immersion blender to partially blend it, and I did not use cayenne pepper. But it was delicious! I just pulled some out of the freezer so I get to have it again – yum! Here’s how it looked (we served it on brown rice):

IMG_9123.JPG

Later, during our major snow event, I made three more soups and some muffins!

The first soup was this Vegan Cream of Celery Soup. I had a lot of celery from Costco that I wanted to use up! I didn’t take any photographs, but the result was very tasty!

I made this French Lentil Soup while prepping the ingredients for this Red Pepper-Carrot Soup.

The onion, celery, carrots, and garlic for the lentil soup:

img_9625

Sautéing in olive oil:

img_9632

At the same time, I roasted the bell peppers for the red pepper-carrot soup. I had red, orange, and yellow peppers from Costco, so that’s what I used. (I also used three instead of two, more carrots, two bay leaves, and probably more curry powder. Also, I think I used vegetable broth mixture instead of just water, and I think I kept the amount of liquid at four cups while I increased the amounts of other ingredients, because reviewers had said the original recipe called for too much water.)

img_9631

Onion, carrots, and garlic prepped for the red pepper-carrot soup:

img_9639

Here are the blackened bell peppers next to the lentil soup on the stove. This is basically all of the workspace I needed for this project – I was pretty much just peeling, chopping, pouring, and stirring.

img_9648

The lentil soup recipe called for puréeing some of it, so I did that, and set aside some of the purée for baby Sam before adding the rest back into the pot. The soup looked pretty gross, but it was soooo delicious! I had run out of energy at this point, so I covered the bell peppers in foil to steam, then transferred that project to the refrigerator.

IMG_9671.JPG

So, another day, I pulled the prepped vegetables out the fridge and made the red pepper-carrot soup. Here are the peeled bell peppers:

IMG_9740.jpg

Skipping ahead to dinner that night, we had the pepper and carrot soup (with parsley, one of my favorite greens) with baked potatoes with broccoli and cheese. I piled some of the leftover lentil soup on my baked potato, too!

img_9748img_9749img_9754

Another day, I made spaghetti using this veggie spaghetti and it was a total success! In the past, I haven’t liked any healthier form of pasta, such as whole wheat or gluten free, but the flavor and texture of these noodles was close enough to regular spaghetti that I didn’t mind the substitution at all, and Ari ate some, too!

Finally, another recipe I tried out recently is this one for Whole Wheat Carrot Applesauce muffins. I used maple syrup instead of honey. I found them to be almost too healthy-tasting for me, but Ari loved them!

Leave a Reply

